Well, things have been cooking in the last few weeks. First, there’s been a lot of buzz about wolfram alpha . Sadly, this one of the situations where the buzz is so incredibly excessive and over the top (I can’t even count the number of times when I read that this is the next google/replace google/eat google wolf-style) that I’m afraid that what looks to be a very good service could actually be ignored. It’s strong at aggregating lots of information, presenting it in a clear and uncluttered environment (and god knows we could always use less clutter on webpages). But it is that, a stop for statistics, referable stats, and such. It reminds me of something but what. . .

Speaking of one stop shops. Much more exciting and much less discussed is the new US government data site. I’ll admit that I started salivating at the mere mention of it. Maybe if the government gave us access to data like it should then we wouldn’t have to have vigilante honorary-librarians take it for us. Now, if only we can take it a step further and mandate sharing data when a grant is government sponsored NIH-pubmed style. Not likely. But at least a librarian can dream.

