As I’ve been researching and writing about “born-digital” items for one of my classes. I have to say I’m most struck at the reluctance of researchers to use more electronic tools. Now at least at journals like Science or Nature (which try to pack in piles of articles) there is a way for readers to access “supplementary material” usually this is graphs, tables, data sources that are too big to fit in print.

That’s great. But why, I wonder, isn’t this more present. Why aren’t there more links to large data sets or more complex and interconnected graphs and demonstrations. I’m sure most of this has to do with they way scholars are used to presenting information; highly distilled and packaged, protective of sources and information. This is starting to change with the increase of “escience” especially among the young uns. It’ll be interesting to see what happens to scholarly communication.

